Who Else Wants To Learn Internet and Computer Tips ANYONE Can Understand and Use?

A blog by NoAdware™ anti spyware software downloaded over 40 million times in 100 different countries.

Example Of A Phishing Email

Posted by: Karl Smith on May 5, 2011

Example Of A Phishing Email

Once again on this blog I’m going to reveal a REAL example of a phishing email. These emails try to steal your money! To be exact they try to steal your credit card information or your paypal account login information, etc.

The example below is especially useful for anyone who owns a domain name. I have many and this email almost fooled me.

So by carefully reading this blog post… you’ll learn how phishing emails can look like. This is just ONE example.

Subject of Email: Re: Attn: SEOBOOKLETS.com Expiration Soon

This subject line I had to open immediately, because seobooklets.com is my domain, and I DON’T wish that it expires.

Email Body:

Domain Expiration Notice

Domain: SEOBOOKLETS.COM

Bill To: Invoice # 1304557832
Invoice Date May 4, 2011
Malta, NA Terms Net 14
1308 – US Due Date May 19, 2011
+356.21464879 P.O. #

PAY NOW 128 SECURE

Domain Name Registration Price Term
SEOBOOKLETS.COM May 4, 2011 – May 4, 2012 $75.00 1 Year

Dear ,

This solicitation is to inform you that it’s time to send in your registration for SEOBOOKLETS.COM. We are a submission service and search engine ranking company.

Failure to complete your search engine registration by May 19, 2011 may result in the cancellation of this offer (making it difficult for your customers to locate you using search engines on the web).

Your registration includes search engine submission for SEOBOOKLETS.COM for 1 year. You are under no obligation to pay the amount stated above unless you accept this offer by May 19, 2011. This notice is not an invoice. It is a courtesy reminder to register SEOBOOKLETS.COM for search engine listing so that your customers can locate you on the web.

This Offer for SEOBOOKLETS.COM will expire on May 19, 2011. Act Now!

For Domain Name:
SEOBOOKLETS.COM
PAY NOW 128 SECURE
optoutnow

The blue words were actually links but of course I did not include the links – because the links are THE most dangerous — clicking any link would infected my computer with some spyware or virus.

The most important question: How do I know this is phishing email?

In the first glance I did not realize at all this is phishing until I noticed the price, $75.00. For a domain you only pay around $10 a year.

That raised red flags so I checked the links next, here’s how I did it. Usually this technique alone instantly tells me if an email is real or phishing. Because phishing emails have something very special in the links — and here’s what that’s all about.

If you place the mouse (without clicking!!) on top of a link, you will see in the status bar the actual website you will be sent to if you click on the link.

So when I placed my mouse over the big PayNow 128 Secure link my status bar revealed the website I will be sent to.

Here’s a screenshot:

Status Bar of Google Chrome

The website where I renew my domains is namecheap.com yet I will be sent to a different domain as you can see, domainregren.com so this instantly told me this is a phishing email.

So what’s the big take from this?

Read carefully the email if it relates to money: asking for money, paypal, amazon, ebay and so forth. Does email make sense, check carefully, if I didn’t it would have fooled me? Think before clicking links!!

Use the technique I showed you about checking links. This will INSTANTLY tell you if the email is real or phishing. Practice the technique, open a real email that has a link, put your mouse over the link and you’ll see the url in the status bar.

Note: Some of the links for example seobooklets.com link to seobooklets.com which means are 100% Real — this is done to trick you so you Really have to check All links.

Hope this helps you!

Example Of A Phishing Email

- – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – -

Related Articles:

How To Report Fraud Spam

This Spam Is Written Very Well It Almost Fooled Me!

Example Of A Phishing Email

Important News: Spyware Warrior Finally Admits Wrong Accusations

Posted by: Karl Smith on May 4, 2011

It’s going to be a featured post on my blog. For well over 3 years Spyware Warrior website listed us, NoAdware as rogue. What is rogue? It means the anti spyware is not real, it’s fake.

First off by listing us as rogue and then de listing us means there are a bunch of students running the website, inexperienced. Yet the popularity of the website has grown a lot, indeed. We know why NoAdware was listed, and if they did true research they would have known the truth. But this is NOT the place to explain all that…

NoAdware has always remained loyal to its customers, never tried to enter into disputes over wrong accusations, but hey whenever you are so popular – with 45 million downloads by people in over 100 countries — you’re going to find someone who let’s say it as it is: Hate’s You/Doesn’t Care Less.

This is the big news. Although we’re only waiting for the next Internet “Guru” and  ”wanna be” to hear what he/she has to say.

Of course our focus and aim is still to keep on providing support to customers, as well as updating the spyware database. Currently NoAdware protects against over 9000 different spyware. The software is updated around 3-4 times a week.

The damage done to NoAdware by Spyware Warrior is huge, since un intelligent people, without giving thoughts to what they say — spread on forums and so forth their ground breaking news that NoAdware is rogue.

See the current list of rogue anti spyware software on Spyware Warrior site. I’m in no way saying their current list is truthful, of course if they made mistakes in the past, they could do it again.

Karl Smith