Delete Spyware Adware Spyware cleaner software
HOME | BLOG | FEATURES | SUPPORT | TELL A FRIEND Remove adware and spyware



November 10, 2009

Example Of Spam Emails Spoofing Company

Example Of Spam Emails Spoofing Company

I laughed a bit when I took a very quick look at my Spam folder in Gmail today... I instantly recognized some emails to be spam.

Just like I say in the book (FREE download from right side of this blog) there's a type of spam where the email is like it's coming from someone popular (ex: Facebook) when in reality it's coming from a spammer.

Below is real example of these type of spam and how you should instantly within seconds realize it's spam not real. This is useful to know in case the email does not get filtered to your spam/junk folder.

--Start of email example one--

From: "Facebook"
Subject: New login system

Dear Facebook user,

In an effort to make your online experience safer and more enjoyable, Facebook will be implementing a new login system that will affect all Facebook users. These changes will offer new features and increased account security.

Before you are able to use the new login system, you will be required to update your account.

Please click on the link below to update your account online now:

http://www.facebook.com.home1

qo.eu/globaldirectory/LoginFaceb
ook.php?ref=71029194817434760
9789288260054351233120184687
65&email=info@outranksmart.com

If you have any questions, reference our New User Guide.

Thanks,
The Facebook Team

--End of email example one--

How do you know it's spam within seconds of looking at this email?

Simple: Facebook or any other popular company, (or almost anyone that sends you a real email) will not tell you Dear Facebook User

They tell you Dear karlsultana7 or whatever your real facebook username is.


Now if you are using a good email client such as Gmail, the links will be automatically removed - so you cannot click on them. Even though that url has the words facebook.com it's not from facebook.com because URL is actually very long and has more characters after facebook.com - the real domain is:


http://www.facebook.com.home1qo.eu 

Common Sense: The aim of spammers is to get you to click on the links that's why most spam of this type are short and sweet.

The email also looks fake because if it's true that facebook has implimented a new login system - then just go to facebook.com and try to login - that simple no need to click on such boring url's... 

Ok, here's a second example of these type of spam, also know as spoofing attacks.

--Start of email example two-- 


From: "MySpace"
Subject: Your MySpace account
 


Dear MySpace user!

Please be informed that you are required to update your MySpace account.

Please update your MySpace account by clicking here:

http://accounts.myspace.com.iiolik.org.uk/msp/index.php?fuseaction=update&code=

JZQ5UZXL-WSL3HF0IHH2G-A9123-NSHYJ-5YZT8Y&email=info@outranksmart.com

If you're unable to click on the link above, copy and paste it into your browser's address bar.

-------------------------

At MySpace we care about your privacy. This email is never sent unsolicited.

If you think you've received this email in error, or if you have any questions or concerns regarding your privacy, please contact us at:

privacy@myspace.com

MySpace, Inc.
8391 Beverly Blvd. #349
Los Angeles, CA 90048
USA 


--End of email example two-- 

For this example it's the same as above they're saying: Dear MySpace user! not Dear redhalls7 or whatever your real MySpace user is. 

Common sense: In this case, this email is telling us to click on a link to update our myspace account.

DUH... The reason why we have to update our account is not even listed?? Is it for fun maybe??

DUH... Look at the url they're telling us to click on, it starts like this:
accounts.myspace.com.iiolik.org.uk

Is that myspace I mean the website myspace? That's more like this:
myspace.com

Or like this:

signups.myspace.com

So what are those iiolik.org.uk ??? The myspace site is myspace.com AND not myspace.com.iiolik.org.uk

These type of let's call them silly urls are fake.

After the .COM part of any url there can only be a trailing slash / like for example myspace.com/help

Plus just like the facebook example they're telling us to visit url to do something - because the spammer goal is to get you to click on the links - that's how the virus infects your computer. These fake links (can be long or short) when you visit them you get the virus.

Hope you found this post useful.

Just a final thought. Gmail not only automatically placed these messages in my spam folder and made the links unclickable but also displayed a big red warning sign that I cannot ignore:


Thanks

Example Of Spam Emails Spoofing Company


Share/Bookmark


0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

« Home